Mid Term Project – Consumer Learning

Individual Project – Consumption Journal

The Mid Term Project

set: 8 November 2016          due: 24 November 2016

in class time: 17 November 2016 is for you make your analysis and to prepare your report

ie. There is no formal class this week

For the following week you will keep a diary of consumption activity. This should primarily be your own consumption, but you could observe others, as well. Include EVERYTHING you purchase, from morning to evening.

You will make a full week’s entry, day by day, as part of your report.

The objective of this assignment is for you to develop a reflective and evaluative approach to your own consumption. The approach is interpretive, similar to an anthropologist’s fieldwork diary. Reflecting on your own personal consumption should help you to put yourself in the place of other consumers.

Consumption can cover actual real life consumption, as well as activities online that do not conclude with a purchase.

Consumer behavior concepts from our class, as well as extra readings should be applied to help you interpret and analyze the experience or observation.

Each entry should comprise:

  1. A description of the experience. You may want to include copies of the advertisements or promotions seen. Use your smartphone to take photos in store.
  2. Analysis – Analyze what you think is happening. For example, how does the behaviour fit (or not) with the concepts and theories discussed in class?
  3. Pay particular attention to the theory on
    • segmentation, targeting and positioning
    • consumer motivation and personality
    • consumer perception
    • consumer learning.
    • consumer attitude formation and change

Once the week is finished, make your analysis, and email your report to your instructor  karen.howells@neu.edu.tr 

Remember to add your student number and name at the top of your report.

One thought on “Mid Term Project – Consumer Learning

  1. Fiodor Plucci 20165031 says:

    Monday
     I did my breakfast in Near East University cafeteria. I was eating chees, olives, tomatoes and tea (CayKur) with milk (Koop). (5TL)
     Today I received the SMS from Telsim Company that my “Ozgur1” package is finished and I went to buy the credits for my phone. (26TL)
     The weather is sunny today and it is very hot and I bought the cold coffee (Mr.Brown). (3.5TL)
     Also because of exams, I did photo copy in copy store. (10TL)
    Tuesday
     As I am football fun and my favorite team is Bayern Munich. I bought the Bayern Munich jersey and wrote my name on it. (jersey: 30TL print: 20TL)
     I went to the market to buy something for lunch: eggs, tomatoes, green pepper, onion, chees, ayran, bred. I did Turkish delicious food which called melemen. (9TL)
     In faculty cafeteria I bought toast and coffee (Nescafe). (7TL)
    Wednesday
     Sometimes I buy tickets for cinema online from http://www.avenuecinemax.com/. I bought 2 tickets for student with discount. I will watch “Doktor Strange” on 17 November at 18:30. (12.5TL per ticket)
     It is getting cold and I bought the electric heater. (55TL)
    Thursday
     Today I was in Deriboyu and I bought the shirt from Terranova. (35TL)
     One cup of coffee in GloriaJeans. (10TL)
    Friday
     Each Friday I play football with my friends and I reserved football field for 1 hour. (30TL)
     My girlfriend study in Sweden and I miss her so much and I purchased online greeting card with flowers in Sweden via internet from http://www.vistaprint.se/ web page. (30EUR)
     I bought original book for my International Business course. (100TL)
    Saturday
    Each Saturday I am going to the supermarket and buy the food for two weeks, because I will have exam week and no time for shopping. This Saturday I bought:
     MEAT PRODUCTS:
     Chicken breast without skin – 3kg (Kırnı Piliçleri)
     Fish (not fat) – 1 kg (Bozdağ balik pazari)
     The meat (not fat beef) – 1 kg (Lemar)
     GROATS:
     Rice – 200g (Duru pirinc)
     Bulgur rice- 200g (Duru bulgur)
     Oatmeal – 500g (Quaker)
     BEANS:
     Beans – 200g (Heinz)
     Chick-pea – 200g (Duru Nohut)
     Lentil – 200g (Duru mercimek)
     EGGS – 1 TEN (Taskent)
     MILK AND MILK PRODUCTS:
     Cottage cheese – 1 kg (Pinar)
     Ayran – 2 liters (Sutas)
     Labne – 300g (Pinar)
     FRUIT: (Lemar)
     Apples green – 1kg
     Grapefruit – 3 pieces
     Kiwi – 5 pieces
     Banana – 1kg
     VEGETABLES: (Lemar)
     Onion – 1kg
     Carrots – 1kg
     Cabbage – 1 head
     Tomatoes – 2kg
     Cucumbers – 1kg
     Pepper – 1kg
     Green beans – 500g
     Broccoli
     OTERS:
     Olive oil – 1 bottle (Aegean Dream – (Ege Ruyasi))
     Wine or apple vinegar – 1 bottle (Aksu Vital)
     Porridge – 1piece (Gletscherkrone)
     Honey – 1 bottle (Ege Bal)

    Sunday
     I and my friends bought the pizza from Domino’s Pizza via the internet http://www.dominospizzanc.com/ (35TL)

    Like

Leave a Reply

